The unknown unknown unexpressed expectations

  • There are things I know, I know
  • There are things I know, I don’t know
  • There are things I don’t know, I know
  • There are things I don’t know, I don’t know

I’m mostly worried about the last one.

  • Information I am assumed to have, but I don’t
  • Expectations to me, that are not expressed
  • Considerations that I aught to take, but I can’t see
  • Things I should remember, but I didn’t

and the consequence being  frustration that I am the one not knowing. #gofigure

See also Eating wicked problems for breakfastEven superheros need helpHow to spot defects Innovation is about the unknown – deal with it  All oracles are failable

7 thoughts on “The unknown unknown unexpressed expectations

  1. I ask questions to understand the context. If you think asking questions is a weakness, should I rather just do whatever? If I should know better – who can tell me? Who am I supposed to have the dialog with?

  2. [ http://www.randsinrepose.com/archives/2013/04/07/an_introduction_to_you.html ]: An Introduction to You
    //You remember those expectations we had of you? The impossibly high ones that we never told you about, but mostly just felt? Yeah, they were way off. In fact, our opinions of your ability appear to be way off. You appear to be just a regular old disappointing human. Those mistakes you keep making? We don’t know if you’re not getting it or what. Most folks have figured it out by now. Figured what out, you ask? You know, the undefinable but very important ‘it’ that everyone else knows, but can’t explain it. You not getting ‘it’ is worrying us//

Leave a Reply

